Social Network Analysis and Visualization

May 18, 2007

Social Network

The thing I am working on right now is social network analysis and visualization. The goal is to make a survey inside my project team and visualize the social network of interaction between my team members and customer representatives. I look forward to having those results, because I want to understand how communication is performed, evaluate risk of losing someone from this network (retired, vacation & etc.) and take some actions based on that.

Please refer to “The hidden power of social networks” book by Rob Cross and Andrew Parker.

P.S. The visualization above was taken from http://www.jeffkennedyassociates.com – you will be able to see mine when we perform the survey – hopefuly in next couple of months

3 Responses to “Social Network Analysis and Visualization”

  1. Conor Duke said

    Looks good, which tool did you use to generate the file? I am currently trying to pull together information about how information is transfered around social networks. i.e
    What are the measure of a robust social network with high levels of knowledge transmission?
    How did SNA go in the end?
    Regards

    Conor

  2. Hello! well, like I said, this screenshot was taken from http://www.jeffkennedyassociates.com . But, I am currently using Spring Embedder (Java program), because I am a former Java programmer and it is easier for me to use such tools. And I have requested a free copy of Negopy (http://www.sfu.ca/~richards/negopy.htm), but haven’t received any response yet.
    NetDraw is also a good one.

  3. sayi said

    Hello Bayramannakov,

    Have you completed with your visualization project?
    I am doing similar academic project. i would appreciate i you can share your experiences, execution method and the questionnaire used.

    Thanks & regards
    Sayi Niranjan Gudi

Leave a Reply

